All Grade 1 Standards for

English Language Arts/Literacy

The standard grade refers to the level at which the standard applies. Some standards have specific grade levels, like K, 1, 2, and 3, but others are shared, such as 6-8 or 11-12. The standards below have the same grade designation. Click a standard to learn more.

  • (W.1.4 begins in grade 3)

  • With guidance and support from adults, focus on a topic, respond to questions and suggestions from peers, and add details to strengthen writing as needed.

  • With guidance and support from adults, use a variety of digital tools to produce and publish writing, including in collaboration with peers.

  • Participate in shared research and writing projects (e.g., explore a number of how-to books on a given topic and use them to write a sequence of instructions).

  • With guidance and support from adults, recall information from experiences or gather information from provided sources to answer a question.

  • (W.1.9 begins in grade 4)

  • (W.1.10 begins in grade 3)